February 23, 2022

Rector’s eNews – 23 February 2022

/ Rector's eNews

I trust that the half-term provided a wonderful opportunity to re-connect with your sons and that they were able to relax after a very full few weeks. Before the break, we enjoyed having our E Block parents here at school for an Open Day at which several HoDs gave presentations on the innovation and direction within their departments. It is good to know that this was appreciated by a number of parents whose comments in this regard have been valued.

Our Prize Giving followed on that evening; unlike other schools, we have a Speech Day in October at which we chiefly focus on matric students and a prize giving, held in February, which is a celebration of the previous year’s academic successes and the achievements of the current A to D Blocks. It was good to congratulate those who won prizes which are awarded on the basis of excellence and also diligence and improvement. It is our intention that a prize or certificate should be within the reach of every boy in the school: even if one is not top of the class, a prize can be won for working really hard or improving significantly. We hope that this occasion might have been an inspiration both to those who were rewarded and to those who will aim high throughout this year.

The following boys were in the top three in their year groups in 2021:

E Block :
1st – Reily Elliot
2nd – Roelof Rossouw
3rd – Oliver Bruyns

D Block :
1st – Ruben Visagie
2nd – Carlyle Hawkins
3rd – Patrick Lambert

C Block :
1st – David du Toit
2nd – Kofi Asumaning
3rd – Aiden Jinnah

B Block :
1st – Benjamin Frost
2nd – Peter Woodland
3rd – Reuben Baldry

Sir Henry Strakosch Internal Scholarship
The Sir Henry Strakosch Scholarship is held for one year and is awarded to the top boy in the Block with the best combined mark in Mathematics and Science in his previous year. Based on their 2021 results, the scholarships were won by these boys:

B Block : Tristan Hoyle
C Block : David du Toit
D Block : Dylan Hewlett
E Block : Reily Elliot

John W Hamilton Internal Scholarship
The Hamilton Scholarship is held for one year and is awarded to the boy with the top aggregate in his Block who is not already the recipient of another academic scholarship. Based on their 2021 results, the scholarships were won by the following:

B Block : Peter Woodland
C Block : Theo Apteker
D Block : Carlyle Hawkins
E Block : Reily Elliot

House Academic Awards
Academic Achievement (Fleischer Shield): West House
Academic Effort (Ralfe Cup): West House

Our warm congratulations go to those boys who won awards. A list of these boys is attached as Appendix A to this eNews.

Read the full Rector’s eNews here


Copyright © 2023 Michaelhouse. All rights reserved.