September 1, 2021

Rector’s eNews – 01 September 2021

/ Rector's eNews

The end of last week proved to be one of the high points of the term with the Athletics Sports Day, brought forward from Saturday as a result of the expectation of snow on the weekend to Thursday and Friday afternoons. The boys competed with immense verve, enjoying the competition with each other, in blustery conditions and some excellent times were recorded. Founders snatched victory from Farfield in the dying moments of Friday afternoon as the temperature suddenly dropped by 10 degrees.

The final results were : 1st Founders (531), 2nd Farfield (519), 3rd Pascoe (450), 4th McCormick (395), 5th Ralfe (387), 6th Baines (382), 7th Mackenzie (366), 8th Tatham (359) and tie 9th East & West (346).

Athletics Awards and Records

The new records broken at this Athletics Sport Day were: Ruben Visagie (Farfield) – 9 min 32, 35 sec in the U15 3000m and Edrich van Loggerenberg (Founders) – 16,86m in the U16 Shot Put.

The following boys were the age group champions:

Gold : Séan Erasmus (Ralfe)
Silver : Henry Walters (Tatham)
Bronze : Mark Conway (West)

Gold : Ruben Visagie (Farfield)
Silver : Ngaa Chikarango (Ralfe)
Bronze: Tshiamo Boikhutso (Pascoe)

Gold: Theo Apteker (McCormick)
Silver: Jordan Baxter (Baines)
Bronze : Campbell Ridl (Founders)

Gold : Mvelo Guma (Baines)
Silver : Fortune Mpofu (Ralfe)
Bronze: Skulule Ngejane (Baines)

Gold: Matthew Gibson (East)
Silver : Graham Hoal (Ralfe)
Bronze : Simon Williams (Founders)

100m Sprint – D Barford Trophy : Alexander Vermeulen
Junior Victor Ludorum – Paul Nash Trophy : Ruben Visagie
Under 17 Victor Ludorum – Martin Rose Floating Trophy : Mvelo Guma
Senior Victor Ludorum – John Odams Trophy : Theo Apteker
Best Single Performance in a Field Event – Mike Gledhill Cup : Edrich Van Loggerenberg
Best Single Performance in a Track Event – Steven Waidelich Floating Trophy : Ruben Visagie
Best Middle Distance Athlete – GD Barrie Trophy: Ruben Visagie
Best Single Performance in any event – St Evens Trophy : Edrich Van Loggerenberg
Winning House – Michaelhouse Eric Strapp Memorial Trophy : Founders

Read the full Rector’s eNews here

Copyright © 2024 Michaelhouse. All rights reserved.